64HDD Programme und Plug-ins

Diese Seite liefert ein paar Programme und Erweiterungen, möglich gemacht nur durch die Benutzung des 64HDD Emulators für CBM Laufwerke - Die möglichen Applikationen erweitern die Funktionalität von 64HDD und Eurem Commodore™ Computer und bringen niemals zuvor für möglich gehaltene Fähigkeiten.
Fühlt Euch frei einfach runterzuladen was Ihr wollt.


64HDD System Plug-ins:

Diese Plug-Ins erweitern die Fähigkeiten Eures 64HDD setups und erlauben es dem C64 entweder schneller und besser zu arbeiten oder Vorteil aus den Möglichkeiten zu ziehen die bisher 'modernen' computern vorbehalten waren. Bitte kontaktiert mich, wenn Ihr vorhabt ein Plug-In für 64HDD zu schreiben, so daß ich diese mit Euren 'eigenen' Command-channel funktionen unterstützen kann.

CDROM fitted to 1541-II casing
  • CD-Audio Erweiterungen (72kb) - Wenn Ihr diese Software und das entsprechende Kabel vom CD-ROM Laufwerk zum Eingang des SID Chips (oder zu Lautsprechern) führt, könnt Ihr CD's in Euren Applikationen abspielen, wenn Ihr z.B. ein Programm geschrieben hat und diese auf CD brennt, kannman zusätzlche Audiotracks abspielen lassen. Oder aber einfach nur zurücklehen und Musik hören währensd Ihr an Eurem C64 sitzt und arbeitet. Beachtet auch den Commodore CD-Player weiter unten auf der Seite.


  • Power-Loader Erweiterungxtensions (80kb) - Dieser Adapter ermöglicht dem 64HDD System die vorteilige HighSpeed übertragung von Dateien. Die Pwr-Load Funktion beschleunigt die Übertragung um das 30-40 Fache bei einer einzelnen Datei, verglichen mit einer normalen 1541. Es gibt ein 'Stream'Format welches Dateien bis zu 16 Mb direkt auf sie Sound oder Graphikausgabe steuert. All das ist für 'normale' C64's möglich, obwohl es auch einen austausch-Kernal gibt, der es ermöglicht die Pwr-Load funktionen in jeder Applikaton zu benutzen, die die normalen Lade Routinen nutzt. Das Kabel kann noch weiter verbessert werden, sodaß ein Drucker am Userport (Fall vorhanden) und das Pwr-Load Kabel zur selben Zeit benutzt werden können.

    Falls Ihr selbst auf Grund Eurer Fähigkeiten nicht in der Lage seid ein solches Kabel zu bauen, biete ich eine Version an, die auf bestehende X-Kabel aufgesteckt wird, mit zusatzknöpfen für Diskettenwechsel, 64HDD-reset und C64 Reset. (Schaut mal im Shop nach).


  • PSID für DOS - 64HDD Nutzer Nils Andreas kam die Idee, Roland Hermans' SID file Converter namens PSID für 64HDD einzuspannen. Roland trug seinen Teil dazu bei, indem er PSID für DOS kompilierte, während Nils ein kleines Interface geschrieben hat, um die Dateien direkt vom C64 aus zu kompilieren. Jetzt könnt Ihr alle SiD Tunes der HVSC mit Leichtigkeit auf dem C64 wiedergeben!


  • Netwerken mit 64HDD - 64HDD Nutzer Peter Simmonds hat herausgefunden, wie man mit 64HDD im Netzwerk unter DOS mit anderen PCs arbeitet, auf denen DOS oder Windows läuft. Das NETWORK.TXT File, daß bei 64HDD dabei ist, nennt die Details, dennoch müsst Ihr das MS Networking Packet (kostenlos) runterladen.


  • USB Drives with 64HDD - this is a MSDOS device driver that allows many USB "mass storage class" devices to be indentified and available to DOS programs. Mass storage class devices include "thumb drives" (Flash memory sticks), card readers (for CompactFlash, SD, MMC, etc) and even many new Digital cameras. By using this driver, the USB devices will be identified at booting and can be accessed by your Commodore through 64HDD.


64HDD Anwendungen

  • CD-Player (3kb) ist ein Multi Platform CD-Player, der es erlaubt, Audio Cd's direkt vom Commodore aus abzuspielen und zu kontollieren. Eine Version funktioniert mit allen Commodores, eine andere nur mit nicht-VIC20, der einen größeren Bildsschirm nutzt. Wenn jemand einen GEOS CD Spieler scheiben will, nur zu!!!.

  • C=ommPedia64 (immernoch 'coming soon'!) ist die erste voll multimedia fähige Enzyklopedie, die auf dem C64 erscheint. Mit über 35.000 Artikeln, 3.400 Bildern, audio Clips, Videos und einem Atlanten. Diese Anwendung hat Mann-Jahre verschlungen! Es wird einen kleinen Beispieldownload geben, die Komplette CD wird nur auf Bestellung erhältlich sein, da alles zu groß zum runterladen sein wird. Leider hat sich die Entwicklung ein wenig verlangsamt, da ich da ich die Pwr-LoadFunktionen in 64HDD eingebunden habe , und die video player....aber ich bin in bälde wieder dabei. Derzeit ist es nur Videos und ein Browser...

64HDD Werkzeuge:

Click for enlarged view Click for enlarged view
  • A64 Video Creator (75kb, pre-beta release!) dieses tool konvertiert PC AVI Formate in ein Commodore abspielbares Forma. Noch sind nicht alle speierungs Funktionen unterstützt. Zur Wiedergabe ist eine REU oder das Pwr-Load Kable nötig. Sound kann über die Audio Funktion des CD-Spielers von 64HDD erfolgen. Das sogenannete A64 Format erlaubt sogar Raster und interlaced Color Änderung.

    Der AVI Video COnverter ist ein MSDOS Tool und benötigt eine vorbehandlung des AVI Files, um die kompremierung zu entfernen und die Palette auf 8-Bit einzustellen. Der Sound sollte herausgezugen werden und als WAV File auf eine Mixed-Mode CD gebrannt werden. Im Programm selbst kann man wählen welche Farb-Modi man nutzen will und was für andere Playback Funktionen man haben möchte.

    Ein C64 Abspiel Tool ist noch nicht erhältlich. Jedes Hilfsangebot wird dankbar angenommen!!!

    PS: Für eine Demonstration der VideoModi ladet Euch dieses demo file (925kb) runter und startet DEMO

64HDD Programs and Plug-ins

This page details a number of programs and enhancement features only made possible through the use of 64HDD - The CBM Drive Emulator. The optional applications extend the functionality of 64HDD and your Commodore™ computer, bringing to it capabilities never before considered possible. Feel free to download whatever interests you.


64HDD System Plug-ins:

These plug-ins expand the capabilities of your 64HDD set-up allowing your Commodore /64HDD combination to either work better, faster, or to take advantage of features previously reserved for "modern" computers. Please contact me if you want to write plug-ins for 64HDD so that I can support them with their own command channel functions.

    CDROM fitted to 1541-II casing
  • LongFileName Support (125kb) - with this plug-in 64HDD supports 16-character filenames in MSDOS using the Win95 LongFileName format. This means most Commodore filenames can be transferred as PRG files and have their names preserved rather than being truncated to DOS's 8.3 format.


  • CDROM fitted to 1541-II casing
  • CD-Audio Extensions (72kb) - By adding this software to your 64HDD system you can control the playback of audio CDs from your Commodore. To listen to the playback all you need is a set of headphones or speakers connected to your CD-ROMs front panel socket or with the special audio-lead connected you can mix the CD sound using the C64's SID chip. Use the CD sound for your latest programming project or just sit back and listening to music whilst you work on your Commodore. Be sure to check out the Commodore CD-Player available for download elsewhere on this page.


  • Power-Loader Extensions (80kb) - By adding these loaders and a parallel cable to your 64HDD system you can reduce loading times to a minimum. The Pwr-Load plug-ins speed-up access to single file programs by 30-50times compared to standard 1541 loads. The speed up is available to standard Commodores, however with a replacement Kernal ROM or 64HDD Cartridge you can use Pwr-Load transparently with almost every application. Instructions for the Pwr-Load cable are included in the plug-in download. Alternately, the Pwr/XE cable can be ordered from 64HDD Shop.

  • PSID for DOS - 64HDD user Nils Andreas came up with this idea to interface Roland Hermans' SID file convertor to 64HDD. Roland oblidged by porting his software to DOS, whilst Nils put together a simple utility to control it directly from the C64 keyboard. Now you can sample all those SID tunes with ease!


  • Networking with 64HDD - 64HDD user Peter Simmonds worked out how to network 64HDD systems running in DOS with other PC which are running either DOS or Windows. The NETWORK.TXT file included with 64HDD has the details, but you may need to download the MS networking client package.


  • USB Drives with 64HDD - this MSDOS device driver allows many USB "mass storage class" devices to be identified and made available to DOS programs. Mass storage class devices include "thumb drives" (Flash memory sticks), card readers (for CompactFlash, SD, MMC, etc) and even many new Digital cameras. By using this driver, the USB devices identified when DOS boots will be accessible by your Commodore through 64HDD.


64HDD Applications:

  • CD-Player (3kb) is a multi-platform Audio CD Player allowing you to play, pause, and otherwise control the playing of Audio CDs directly from the keyboard of your Commodore. One version of the software works on all CBM models supported by 64HDD, whilst the other is for non-Vic20 computers allowing a wider display area. Anybody out there want to write a GEOS CD-Player Desk Accessory?

  • C=ommPedia64 (not actively being worked on at the moment) this was to be the first full featured multimedia encyclopedia to be released for the C64. Featuring over 35,000 reference articles, 3,400 images, audio clips, videos and an atlas. This mammoth application had taken man-months to create, but interest for it by 64HDD users was limited and progress had slowed whilst I worked on other projects such as Power-Loader, video players.... needed to optimise the performance of the application. I would have liked to like have gotten back on to this project, but cannot see it happening any time soon. All graphics and text had been converted. Just the videos and a browser remained to go....

64HDD Tools:

Click for enlarged view Click for enlarged view
  • A64 Video Creator (75kb, pre-beta release!) is a tool for converting PC AVI files into a format playable on a Commodore. Not all save functions are supported yet. For C64 playback an REU, RAMLINK or 64HDD Pwr-Load connection would be a must have. Sound tracks can be played if using the CD-Audio plug-in for 64HDD. The proposed A64 format even allows raster and interlaced colour changes!

    The AVI Video Converter is a MSDOS tool and requires that you pre-process the AVI to remove compression and to palettise it to 8-bit colour. Sound should also be stripped out as WAV files for writing to a mixed-mode CD. Inside the tool you can configure what colour modes will be used and other play-back features.

    A german programmer "Toby" got a few demo movies up and running with his set of playback software and even invented a new high-colour video mode, however a user friendly tool has not yet been released. Any offers for help in programming one are greatfully welcomed.

    PS: For a demo of the various modes, download these demo files (925kb) and run DEMO.